For more scholarship opportunities check out the College of Science Scholarships. Plus, don't forget to check out our other student opportunities.


The Period for accepting Department of Biology Scholarships for the 2014-2015 academic year is now closed. Below are descriptions of scholarships available each spring.
Thomas L. Bahler Scholarship. Established in recognition of Thomas Bahler's long-time dedication and support to students in the Department of Biology, with special emphasis for students preparing for the health professions. This award is generally made to a prehealth student with a biology major.
Gordon J. Christensen Scholarship. Established to assist deserving undergraduate students pursuing research opportunities in the Department of Biology. The award is based on scholarship, character, and professional promise and awarded to a student pursuing a career in dentistry. This scholarship is made possible by the generous donation of Drs. Gordon J. and Rella Christensen and is administered by the Department of Biology.
Christenson Memorial Scholarship. Established to honor the six Christenson brothers - Scott, Reed, L. Dean, Ralph, John, and Paul - all of whom attended Utah State University, the later five of whom all graduated in the Department of Biology.  Established to assist deserving undergraduate students pursuing a degree in the Department of Biology. The award is based on scholarship, character, and professional promise. The scholarship serves as a legacy to the Christenson brothers' commitment to education and as a source of perpetual support for generations of biology students.  The scholarship is administered by the Department of Biology.
Department of Biology Scholarship. Established by many donors including alumni, emeriti, faculty, staff, and friends of the Department.  The scholarship is based on scholarly performance during the student's academic career. 
David B. Drown Scholarship for Public Health. Established in honor of emeriti faculty member, Dr. David B. Drown by family, students, and colleagues. Awarded to students majoring in Public Health based on scholarship, character, need, and professional promise.
Eldon J. Gardner Research Scholarship. Established in memory of Eldon J. Gardner, former faculty member and discoverer of the Gardner Syndrome.   Awarded based on outstanding scholarship, character, research and professional promise.  Awarded to undergraduate biology students to assist in genetic research.
Weston R. and Jolayne Innes Scholarship. Made possible by an endowment established by alumni, Weston R. Innes, in 2013.  The scholarship is awarded to a full-time student currently working on an undergraduate degree in Biology at Utah State University. The award is made on the basis of financial need to a junior or senior student in good standing in a Biology Program. 
Gene and Ruth Miller Scholarship. Established by Gene Miller, former Department head of the Department of Biology, and his wife, Ruth.  The award is based on outstanding scholarship, research promise, and a demonstrated interest in plant biology.

James Mohr Scholarship. Established by James Mohr to be awarded to one student annually who is registered as full time student and is currently working on an undergraduate degree in Biology at Utah State University.  The award is based on good academic standing in the Department of Biology.

Pepper R. Murray Scholars Award.  Awarded to induce pre-professional undergraduate students (pre-medical or pre-dental) to obtain training and education in the business realm to assist them in their professional careers as they ultimately participate in their own businesses (practices).

Ivan G. Palmblad Scholarship.  Established by Ivan G. Palmblad, Professor Emeritus, for a deserving undergraduate student interested in Ecology, Evolution, or Field Biology.  This award is based on scholarship and research promise in a full-time biology major with demonstrated interest in Ecology Evolution, or Field Biology.

Richard J. and Marion A. Shaw Scholarship. Established by Professor Emeritus Richard Shaw and his wife, Marion, to benefit future generations of students who demonstrate high academic achievement, professional promise, and personal integrity.  Awarded to students majoring in biology with an interest in plant biology.
John R. Simmons Scholarship. Established to recognize the service given by John R. Simmons, former department head and faculty member in the Department of Biology. Available to junior or senior students majoring in biology and showing scholastic achievement, personal integrity, and financial need.
Sedley and Pearl Stanford Memorial Scholarship. Established to honor the memory of Sedley and Pearl Stanford to assist undergraduate students seeking a degree in biology, preferably with the intention of a career in ornithology or entomology.